Christopher Michael, gay, gay poetry

I Wished I Could Love Thee

I Wished I Could Love Thee

I wished that I could love thee, close or from afar
that thou without name or station, place in time
I wished that I could love thee, thy countenance radiates
pure light, shine on me light, and say your name

I wished that I could be loved, ungainly though I feel
or past my prime set standards by youth’s designs
I wished that I could love me, trusting that I am
sacred in my existence, here among the stars

I wished that love would find me, hold me gently
in his arms, assure all is bright and shiny
as a new penny and not tarnished as before
some love that never will be again

I wished that love were sacred, not illusive as it be
chasing you from suns and moons and stars
to land squarely in this wretched hovel devoid
of that which I wished for most

but let me tarry not, my quest for thy love complete
a past chance encounter, sweet but insecure
and let me not tarry, but go instead my way
to love me is all that matters, this sad and lonely day

but let me carry on so, nor racket make and fuss
this is not the ending, but the start of something just
fine and beautiful, as love can only be
I wished it were so, and happen just to me

Standard

One thought on “I Wished I Could Love Thee

Leave a Reply

